Ning Wang

Ning Wang, Dr.

Ethical Assessment and Responsible Governance of Emerging and Future Technologies

ning.wang@uzh.ch

Website

Research Area

I have a broad research interest in the ethical assessment and responsible governance of emerging and future technologies, such as robotics, autonomous systems, and artificial intelligence. Through empirical studies of these transformative technologies of both enabling and disruptive nature, I aim to address the ethical, social, legal, and regulatory challenges new technologies pose to society, explore responsive analytical approaches in the understanding and evaluation of them, and propose practical governance tools for the design, development, and use of them. On the normative level, I am interested in exploring philosophical conceptions such as identity, agency, autonomy, responsibility, justice, and the good life. Methodologically, I seek to draw an empirical perspective into ethics, and a normative perspective into science and technology studies.

Academic Career

I am an ethicist and a political scientist based in Switzerland since 2010. I hold a PhD degree in Biomedical Ethics and Law (2021) from University of Zurich, and two Master’s degrees in Political Science (2011) and Applied Ethics (2008) obtained in Sweden and Norway respectively. In between my academic endeavors, I managed projects related to ethics for international organizations across government, industry, and NGOs. In 2022, I joined the Digital Society Initiative (DSI), carrying out research and teaching activities around the notion of «value sensitive innovation». As a strong advocate of bottom-up forces for social change, I am dedicated to bridging the gap between science and society, with active engagement in foundations, professional associations, and civil society.

Research Projects

Currently, I am the Principal Investigator (PI) of the following projects:

  • BRIDGE «The BRIDGE Lab», funded by the DIZH and DSI for 2022-2024. The project aims to promote research and innovation through a collaborative platform – as a structural vessel – to connect science with industries, public authorities, and civil society around conditions of successful implementation of digital innovations in Switzerland.
  • SADUS «Societal Acceptance of Drones in Urban Switzerland», seed-funded by the UZH Strategic Partnership Program and DSI for 2022-2023. The project aims to develop evidence-based knowledge for the ethical and social implications of high-impact technologies in the Swiss context.
  • E-HUD «The Ethics Assessment Tool for the Humanitarian Use of Drones», funded by the DIZH Innovation Program for 2022-2023. The project aims to operationalize an ethics assessment framework for the use of drones in the humanitarian settings, which was resulted from an earlier research project FEAHD.
  • VSSI «Value Sensitive Social Innovation: The “Tichajil” Drone in Guatemala», seed-funded by the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI) for 2022-2023. The project aims to gain a thick understanding on how the value sensitive design approach can facilitate novel technological breakthroughs in incorporating human and societal values through social innovations.

Completed projects from my past research include:

  • FEAHD «Value Sensitive Innovation: Framework for the Ethics Assessment of Humanitarian Drones», funded by the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) and the Swiss Network for International Studies (SNIS) for 2018-2021. The project aims to investigate how to integrate ethical values in the humanitarian and development use of drones through empirical studies and multi-stakeholder collaboration.

External links

ORCID

Google Scholar

Web of Science

Research Gate

Academia

IEEE

Twitter

YouTube

Ning Wang

Ning Wang, Dr.

Ethical Assessment and Responsible Governance of Emerging and Future Technologies

ning.wang@uzh.ch

Webseite

Forschungsgebiet

Mein Forschungsinteresse gilt der ethischen Bewertung und verantwortungsvollen Steuerung neuer und zukünftiger Technologien, wie Robotik, autonome Systeme und künstliche Intelligenz. Durch empirische Studien zu diesen transformativen Technologien, die sowohl als Ermöglicher als auch als Störfaktor fungieren, möchte ich mich mit den ethischen, sozialen, rechtlichen und regulatorischen Herausforderungen auseinandersetzen, die neue Technologien für die Gesellschaft darstellen, reaktionsfähige analytische Ansätze für das Verständnis und die Bewertung dieser Technologien erforschen und praktische Governance-Tools für die Gestaltung, Entwicklung und Nutzung dieser Technologien vorschlagen. Auf der normativen Ebene bin ich daran interessiert, philosophische Konzepte wie Identität, Handlungsfähigkeit, Autonomie, Verantwortung, Gerechtigkeit und das gute Leben zu untersuchen. Methodisch versuche ich, eine empirische Perspektive in die Ethik und eine normative Perspektive in die Wissenschafts- und Technologiestudien einzubringen.

Akademische Laufbahn

Ich bin Ethikerin und Politikwissenschaftlerin und lebe seit 2010 in der Schweiz. Ich habe einen Doktortitel in Biomedizinischer Ethik und Recht (2021) von der Universität Zürich und zwei Masterabschlüsse in Politikwissenschaft (2011) und Angewandter Ethik (2008), die ich in Schweden bzw. Norwegen erworben habe. Zwischen meinen akademischen Bemühungen leitete ich Projekte im Bereich der Ethik für internationale Organisationen aus Regierung, Industrie und NGOs. Im Jahr 2022 schloss ich mich der Digital Society Initiative (DSI) an, wo ich Forschungs- und Lehraktivitäten rund um das Konzept der "wertorientierten Innovation" durchführe. Als starke Verfechterin von Bottom-up-Kräften für den sozialen Wandel setze ich mich dafür ein, die Kluft zwischen Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft zu überbrücken, und engagiere mich aktiv in Stiftungen, Berufsverbänden und der Zivilgesellschaft.

Forschungsprojekte

Derzeit bin ich der Principal Investigator (PI) der folgenden Projekte:

  • BRIDGE "The BRIDGE Lab", finanziert durch das DIZH und der DSI für 2022-2024. Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, Forschung und Innovation durch eine kollaborative Plattform - als strukturelles Gefäss - zu fördern, um die Wissenschaft mit der Industrie, den Behörden und der Zivilgesellschaft über die Bedingungen für eine erfolgreiche Umsetzung digitaler Innovationen in der Schweiz zu verbinden.
  • SADUS "Societal Acceptance of Drones in Urban Switzerland", Anschubfinanzierung durch das UZH Strategic Partnership Program und der DSI für 2022-2023. Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, evidenzbasiertes Wissen über die ethischen und sozialen Implikationen von high-impact Technologien im Schweizer Kontext zu entwickeln.
  • E-HUD "The Ethics Assessment Tool for the Humanitarian Use of Drones", finanziert durch das DIZH Innovationsprogramm für 2022-2023. Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, einen ethischen Bewertungsrahmen für den Einsatz von Drohnen im humanitären Umfeld zu operationalisieren, der aus einem früheren Forschungsprojekt FEAHD hervorgegangen ist.
  • VSSI "Value Sensitive Social Innovation: The “Tichajil” Drone in Guatemala", eine Anschubfinanzierung des Staatssekretariats für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (SBFI) für 2022-2023. Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, ein umfassendes Verständnis dafür zu erlangen, wie der Ansatz des wertorientierten Designs neuartige technologische Durchbrüche bei der Einbeziehung menschlicher und gesellschaftlicher Werte durch soziale Innovationen erleichtern kann.

Zu den abgeschlossenen Projekten aus meiner bisherigen Forschung gehören:

  • FEAHD "Value Sensitive Innovation: Framework for the Ethics Assessment of Humanitarian Drones", finanziert vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF) und dem Schweizerischen Netzwerk für Internationale Studien (SNIS) für 2018-2021. Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, zu untersuchen, wie ethische Werte in den humanitären und entwicklungspolitischen Einsatz von Drohnen durch empirische Studien und die Zusammenarbeit verschiedener Interessengruppen integriert werden können.

Externe links

ORCID

Google Scholar

Web of Science

Research Gate

Academia

IEEE

Twitter

YouTube