Melanie Knieps

Melanie Knieps, Dr.

Cybersecurity

melanie.knieps@dsi.uzh.ch

Research Area

My research focuses on the social-scientific perspective of cybersecurity, especially the impact of motivation and trust on knowledge exchange and collaboration. Through in-depth interviews and surveys, I examine the obstacles that experts face when interacting with respective governing bodies, their organization’s leadership and colleagues, and other cybersecurity professionals. Given the relevance of contextual factors in shaping an organization’s safety culture, I am especially interested in the role of leadership, social norms, and other socio-technical aspects in promoting cybersecurity practices that are effective and compatible with (job) requirements.

 

Academic Career

I am a legal psychologist who has always been interested in evidence-based and ethical approaches to national security issues. After graduating with an MSc in Legal Psychology from Maastricht University (2009), I pursued a Ph.D. at the University of Gothenburg (2014) to contribute to the post-9/11 body of scholarship on interviewing people suspected of planning criminal/terrorist activities. The digital transformation has changed the national security debates. To explore how the global community addresses the emerging cybersecurity challenge, I completed a UNITAR-fellowship at the United Nations (NY) and was involved in a research project on Knowledge Sharing on Darknet Markets (John Jay College of Criminal Justice). Since February 2021, I have been a member of the Cybersecurity Community at the Digital Society Initiative (DSI), where I work on interdisciplinary research projects with the goal to make society and government more resilient to cybersecurity threats.

 

Projects

I am currently a postdoc at the Digital Society Initiative of the University of Zurich and work on the NRP-77 project «Promoting trust in cybersecurity through ethics and law». This research involves experts from various professions and aims to provide data, insights, and recommendations on non-technical aspects of cybersecurity. In addition to this research project, I am part of the core project management team of the «Z Pool Tool». The goal of this project is to develop a technical platform to facilitate the recruitment and management of people who would like to participate in research studies across various research institutes.

 

Email: melanie.knieps@dsi.uzh.ch

LinkedIn: https://ch.linkedin.com/in/melanie-knieps-baa73987

Twitter: https://twitter.com/melanieknieps

Melanie Knieps

Melanie Knieps, Dr.

Cybersecurity

melanie.knieps@dsi.uzh.ch

Forschungsgebiet

Meine Forschung bezieht sich auf die sozialwissenschaftliche Perspektive der Cybersicherheit, insbesondere auf die Auswirkungen von Motivation und Vertrauen auf Wissensaustausch und Zusammenarbeit. Anhand von ausführlichen Interviews und Umfragen untersuche ich die Hindernisse, denen sich Expert:innen bei der Interaktion mit den jeweiligen Führungsgremien, der Leitung und den Kolleg:innen ihrer Organisation sowie anderen Fachpersonen im Bereich der Cybersicherheit gegenübersehen. Angesichts der Bedeutung von Kontextfaktoren für die Gestaltung der Sicherheitskultur einer Organisation interessiert mich besonders die Rolle von Führung, sozialen Normen und anderen soziotechnischen Aspekten bei der Förderung effektiver und mit den (beruflichen) Anforderungen kompatibler Cybersicherheitsverfahren.

 

Akademische Laufbahn

Ich bin Rechtspsychologin und habe mich schon immer für evidenzbasierte und ethische Ansätze in Fragen der nationalen Sicherheit interessiert. Nach meinem MSc-Abschluss in Rechtspsychologie an der Universität Maastricht (2009) promovierte ich an der Universität Göteborg (2014), um einen Beitrag zu den wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen über die Befragung von Personen zu leisten, die der Planung krimineller/terroristischer Aktivitäten verdächtigt werden. Die digitale Transformation hat die nationalen Sicherheitsdebatten verändert. Um zu erforschen, wie die globale Gemeinschaft mit der aufkommenden Herausforderung der Cybersicherheit umgeht, habe ich ein UNITAR-Stipendium bei den Vereinten Nationen (NY) absolviert und war an einem Forschungsprojekt zum Wissensaustausch auf Darknet-Märkten beteiligt (John Jay College of Criminal Justice). Seit Februar 2021 bin ich Mitglied der Cybersecurity Community der Digital Society Initiative (DSI), wo ich an interdisziplinären Forschungsprojekten mit dem Ziel arbeite, Gesellschaft und Regierung widerstandsfähiger gegen Cybersecurity-Bedrohungen zu machen.

 

Projekte

Derzeit bin ich Postdoc bei der Digital Society Initiative der Universität Zürich und arbeite am NFP-77-Projekt "Förderung des Vertrauens in die Cybersicherheit durch Ethik und Recht". Dieses Forschungsprojekt, an dem Expert:innen aus verschiedenen Berufsgruppen beteiligt sind, zielt darauf ab, Daten, Erkenntnisse und Empfehlungen zu nicht-technischen Aspekten der Cybersicherheit zu liefern. Zusätzlich zu diesem Forschungsprojekt gehöre ich zum Kernprojektleitungsteam des "Z Pool Tool". Ziel dieses Projekts ist die Entwicklung einer technischen Plattform zur Erleichterung der Rekrutierung und Verwaltung von Personen, die an Forschungsstudien in verschiedenen Forschungsinstituten teilnehmen möchten.

 

E-Mail: melanie.knieps@dsi.uzh.ch

LinkedIn: https://ch.linkedin.com/in/melanie-knieps-baa73987

Twitter: https://twitter.com/melanieknieps