Doris  Leuthard

Doris Leuthard

Doris Leuthard Hausin, born in 1963, graduated from the University of Zurich in 1989 with the distinction 'Summa cum Laude'. She was admitted as an attorney in 1991 and worked in this function until 2006. Her political career began in 1993 as a school councillor for the district of Muri. In 1997, she was elected to the Grand Council of the Canton of Aargau, and in 1999 to the National Council, where she was a member of the Commission for Economic Affairs and Taxation until she was elected to the Federal Council in 2006. She was head of the Federal Department of Economic Affairs until 2010 and has been head of the Federal Department of the Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications since 2010. In 2018 she announced her resignation from the Federal Council.


Doris Leuthard has been a member of the Board of Directors of the Coop Group since 2019, a Board member of Transgourmet international, a Board member of the Bell Food Group and a Board member of Stadler Rail AG since April 2020.

Various functions:

  • Governor at the World Bank, representative of Switzerland at the OECD, FAO, ILO, UNEP, and numerous international committees, conferences and commissions (2006-2018)
  • Member of the UN High Level Panel on Digital Cooperation (2018-2019)
  • President of the Ulrico Hoepli Foundation (since 2018)
  • President of the jury for the Environmental Award of the Economy (since June 2019)
  • Co-President of the Steering Committee of the Europa Forum Lucerne (since June 2019)
  • President of the patronage for the new building for the Swiss Guard (since May 2019)
  • President of the Swiss Digital Initiative, Geneva (since September 2019)
  • Board of Trustees ETH Foundation (since October 2019)
  • Board of Trustees of the Kofi Annan Foundation (from 2020)


  • Honorary citizen of Merenschwand AG (2009)
  • Honorary citizen of Sarnen OW (2019)
  • Honorary Senator of the University of Zurich (2019)
  • Tolerance Prize of the European Academy of Sciences (2018)
  • Arosa-Humorschaufel (2012)
  • Swiss Women's Leadership Award (2019)
  • Zonta International Centennial Recognition Award (2019)