DSI Strategy Lab

The DSI Strategy Lab drafts conceptual and strategic designs and scenarios for future developments in digital transformation. A topic is usually addressed through retreats, workshops, or other appropriate forms of collaboration. In any case, the result is a high-profile product such as a position paper.

 

dsi-strategy-lab

 

Results 2021

The results of Strategy Lab 2021 were presented at the DSI on November 10, 2021. Details about the event can be found here.

 

DSI Strategy Lab 2021 Video

The video is in German.

Detail podcasts about the event (10.11.)

All videos are in German.

 

Background to DSI Strategy Lab 2021

The DSI Strategy Lab 2021 is investigating which civil, criminal, administrative, and international law issues the use of artificial intelligence may have in numerous application areas and how to respond to these regulatory challenges. The UZH Center for Information Technology, Society, and Law (ITSL) is closely involved in the implementation work.

The aim of the work of the 2021 DSI Strategy Lab is to create a position paper to identify the central challenges of regulating AI, to formulate the regulatory approaches and the most important contents of possible rules, and to draw up a research plan to develop concrete solutions (in the form of formulated norms or norm concepts) to these challenges. This is to be done explicitly from an interdisciplinary perspective.

The Scientific Committee of the Strategy Lab 2021 consists of the following UZH researchers:

  • Prof. Abraham Bernstein, UZH (computer science)
  • Prof. Florent Thouvenin, UZH (law)
  • PD Dr. Markus Christen, UZH (ethics)
  • Prof. Aniko Hannak, UZH (computational social science)
  • Prof. Kerstin Noelle Vockinger, UZH (law and medicine)

DSI Strategy Lab

Das DSI Strategy Lab erarbeitet konzeptionelle Analysen und strategische Szenarien für künftige Entwicklungen des digitalen Wandels. Die Bearbeitung eines Themas erfolgt stets interdisziplinär, in der Regel durch Retreats, Workshops oder andere geeignete Kooperationsformen. Endprodukt ist jeweils ein öffentlichkeitswirksames Produkt wie z.B. ein Positionspapier.

Thema 2021: Ein Rechtsrahmen für künstliche Intelligenz

 

dsi-strategy-lab

 

Resultate 2021

Die Resultate des Strategy Lab 2021 wurden am 10. November 2021 an der DSI vorgestellt. Details zum Event finden Sie hier

 

Video zum DSI Strategy Lab 2021

Detail-Podcasts zum Event (10.11.)

 

Hintergrund zum DSI Strategy Lab 2021

Im DSI Strategy Lab 2021 wird untersucht, welche zivil-, straf-, verwaltungs-, und völkerrechtlichen Fragen die Nutzung von Künstlicher Intelligenz in zahlreichen Anwendungsbereichen haben kann und wie auf diese regulatorischen Herausforderungen reagiert werden soll. Das Center for Information Technology, Society, and Law (ITSL), ein Kompetenzzentrum der UZH, ist eng in die Arbeiten eingebunden.

Ziel der Arbeiten des DSI Strategy Lab 2021 ist es, mit einem Positionspapier die zentralen Herausforderungen der Regulierung von KI zu benennen, die Regelungsansätze und die Grundzüge möglicher Regeln zu formulieren und einen Forschungsplan aufzustellen, um konkrete Lösungen (in Form von ausformulierten Normen oder Normkonzepten) für diese Herausforderungen zu entwickeln.

Das Scientific Committee des Strategy Lab 2021 besteht aus folgenden UZH-Angehörigen:

  •     Prof. Abraham Bernstein, UZH (Informatik)
  •     Prof. Florent Thouvenin, UZH (Recht)
  •     PD Dr. Markus Christen, UZH (Ethik)
  •     Prof. Aniko Hannak, UZH (Computational Social Science)
  •     Prof. Kerstin Noelle Vockinger, UZH (Recht und Medizin)