Legal framework for artificial intelligence in Switzerland

When: November 10, 2021

Where: University of Zurich - Digital Society Initiative, Rämistrasse 69, 8001 Zurich.

Room: SOC-E-010

Language: German

Organization: Center for Information Technology, Society, and Law (ITSL), University of Basel (Faculty of Law), Digital Society Initiative

Registration: Until November 8, 2021 at info@itsl.uzh.ch

 

Novel data processing technologies, algorithms, and systems commonly referred to as "Artificial Intelligence" are already having a major impact on our society - and their influence will increase significantly in the near future.

The development and use of AI systems open up great opportunities, but are also associated with risks. The EU and other countries have therefore been working on regulating AI for some time. Switzerland is still at the very beginning here.

The event will show what challenges exist in the use of AI and what approaches are currently being pursued in the Council of Europe and the EU. In view of these developments, a position paper on the legal coverage of AI in Switzerland will be presented and the main features of a possible regulation will be outlined. These proposals will be discussed with representatives from the federal government, business and civil society as well as with the audience.

 

Admission is free. Participation is only possible with a valid Covid certificate. The number of participants is limited.

Flyer Veranstaltung

Rechtliche Rahmenbedingungen für Künstliche Intelligenz in der Schweiz

Wann: 10. November 2021

Wo: Universität Zürich – Digital Society Initiative, Rämistrasse 69, 8001 Zürich

Raum: SOC-E-010

Sprache: Deutsch

Organisation: Center for Information Technology, Society, and Law (ITSL), Universität Basel (Juristische Fakultät), Digital Society Initiative

Registrierung: Bis am 8. November 2021 unter info@itsl.uzh.ch

 

Neuartige Datenverarbeitungstechnologien, Algorithmen und Systeme, die üblicherweise als "Künstliche Intelligenz" bezeichnet werden, haben schon heute einen grossen Einfluss auf unsere Gesellschaft – und ihr Einfluss wird in naher Zukunft noch stark zunehmen.

Die Entwicklung und der Einsatz von KI-Systemen eröffnen grosse Chancen, sind aber auch mit Risiken verbunden. Die EU und weitere Länder arbeiten deshalb seit einiger Zeit an einer Regulierung von KI. Die Schweiz steht hier noch ganz am Anfang.

Die Veranstaltung zeigt auf, welche Herausforderungen beim Einsatz von KI bestehen und welche Ansätze im Europarat und in der EU derzeit verfolgt werden. Mit Blick auf diese Entwicklungen wird ein Positionspapier zur rechtlichen Erfassung von KI in der Schweiz präsentiert und es werden die Grundzüge einer möglichen Regelung aufgezeigt. Diese Vorschläge werden mit Vertreterinnen und Vertretern aus Bund, Unternehmen und Zivilgesellschaft und mit dem Publikum diskutiert.


Der Eintritt ist frei. Teilnahme ist nur mit einem gültigen Covid-Zertifikat möglich. Die Teilnehmerzahl ist beschränkt.

 

Programm:

Flyer Veranstaltung