DigiVox Panel Survey Infrastructure

DigiVox – The Swiss Survey Panel on Digitalization Questions

The impact of digitalization on politics, the media environment, and democratic processes in Switzerland is potentially far reaching, yet remain poorly understood. Media usage has moved online, political debates are being shaped by online campaigns, and the perception of the importance of data protection has shifted massively, changing people’s attitudes about what services the government or private service providers should offer as evidenced by the recent eID referendum.

Studying these kinds of questions requires systematically analyzing population attitudes and behaviors through surveys that specifically track attitudes and behaviors related to digitalization and its consequences. DigiVox is a national survey panel specifically dedicated to the study of the social, economic, cultural, political and policy implications of digital media and their interplay with technological developments in Switzerland. The project is supported by infrastructure funding of the Digitalisierungsinitiative der Zürcher Hochschulen (DIZH), the UZH Digital Society Initiative (DSI), and the University of Zurich. In addition to a recurring set of questions that we ask on each survey, through a competitive process, scholars have the opportunity to buy space on the instrument to ask their own questions.

 

Team

Abraham Bernstein is a Full Professor of Informatics at the University of Zurich (UZH), Switzerland as well as a founding Director of the University of Zurich’s Digital Society Initiative (DSI) — a university-wide initiative with more than 180 faculty members investigating all aspects of the interplay between society and the digitalization. His current research focuses on various aspects of the semantic web, recommender systems, data mining/machine learning, crowd computing, and collective intelligence. 

Eszter Hargittai is Professor and holds the Chair in Internet Use and Society in the Communication and Media Research Department of the University of Zurich. She has edited three volumes on the behind-the-scenes realities of conducting empirical social science research and teaches classes on this topic. She is a member of the FORS Scientific Advisory Board. She publishes on people’s digital media uses with a particular focus on how differences in Internet skills relate to what people do online.

Lucas Leemann is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Political Science at the University of Zürich and member of the DigDemLab. He works on questions of political representation and on how to measure citizen preferences in surveys. A large part of his methodological work addresses ways to employ statistical models that allow to overcome non-response and other forms of biases.

Karsten Donnay is Assistant Professor of Political Behavior and Digital Media in the Department of Political Science at the University of Zurich and a DSI Professor. In his work, he uses large-scale surveys and survey experiments paired with observational data from digital media platforms to shed light on the exact mechanisms by which individuals interact, obtain information, are influenced by or influence others online.

DigiVox Panel Survey Infrastructure

DigiVox - The Swiss Survey Panel on Digitalization Questions

Die Auswirkungen der Digitalisierung auf die Politik, das Medienumfeld und die demokratischen Prozesse in der Schweiz sind potenziell weitreichend, werden aber nach wie vor nur unzureichend verstanden. Die Mediennutzung hat sich ins Internet verlagert und politische Debatten werden durch Online-Kampagnen geprägt. Die Wahrnehmung der Bedeutung des Datenschutzes hat sich massiv verschoben und die Einstellung der Menschen dazu verändert, welche Dienstleistungen der Staat oder private Dienstleister anbieten sollten, wie die jüngste eID-Abstimmung zeigt.

Die Untersuchung solcher Fragen erfordert eine systematische Analyse der Einstellungen und Verhaltensweisen der Bevölkerung durch Umfragen, die speziell die Einstellungen und Verhaltensweisen im Zusammenhang mit der Digitalisierung und ihren Folgen erfassen. DigiVox ist ein nationales Umfragepanel, das sich speziell der Untersuchung der sozialen, wirtschaftlichen, kulturellen, politischen und policy Auswirkungen der digitalen Medien und deren Wechselwirkungen mit den technologischen Entwicklungen in der Schweiz widmet. Das Projekt wird durch Infrastrukturmittel der Digitalisierungsinitiative der Zürcher Hochschulen (DIZH), der Digital Society Initiative (DSI) und der Universität Zürich unterstützt. Zusätzlich zu einem wiederkehrenden Satz von Fragen, die wir bei jeder Umfrage stellen, haben Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler die Möglichkeit, in einem Wettbewerbsverfahren Platz auf dem Instrument zu kaufen, um ihre eigenen Fragen zu stellen.
 

Team

Abraham Bernstein ist ordentlicher Professor für Informatik an der Universität Zürich (UZH), und Gründungsdirektor der Digital Society Initiative (DSI) der Universität Zürich - einer universitätsweiten Initiative mit mehr als 180 Fakultätsmitgliedern, die alle Aspekte des Zusammenspiels zwischen Gesellschaft und Digitalisierung untersucht. Seine aktuelle Forschung konzentriert sich auf verschiedene Aspekte des semantischen Webs, Empfehlungssysteme, Data Mining/Machine Learning, Crowd Computing und kollektive Intelligenz.
 
Eszter Hargittai ist Professorin und Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Internetnutzung und Gesellschaft am Institut für Kommunikations- und Medienforschung der Universität Zürich. Sie hat drei Bände über die Realitäten hinter den Kulissen der empirischen sozialwissenschaftlichen Forschung herausgegeben und unterrichtet Kurse zu diesem Thema. Sie ist Mitglied des wissenschaftlichen Beirats von FORS. Sie veröffentlicht über die Nutzung digitaler Medien durch die Menschen, wobei sie sich insbesondere mit der Frage beschäftigt, wie sich Unterschiede in der Internetkompetenz auf das auswirken, was die Menschen online tun.
 
Lucas Leemann ist Assistenzprofessor am Institut für Politikwissenschaft der Universität Zürich und Mitglied des DigDemLab. Er beschäftigt sich mit Fragen der politischen Repräsentation und mit der Messung von Bürgerpräferenzen in Umfragen. Ein grosser Teil seiner methodischen Arbeit befasst sich mit der Anwendung statistischer Modelle, die es erlauben, Antwortausfälle und andere Formen von Verzerrungen zu überwinden.
 
Karsten Donnay ist Assistenzprofessor für politisches Verhalten und digitale Medien am Institut für Politikwissenschaft der Universität Zürich und DSI-Professor. In seiner Arbeit nutzt er groß angelegte Umfragen und Umfrageexperimente in Kombination mit Beobachtungsdaten von digitalen Medienplattformen, um die genauen Mechanismen zu beleuchten, mit denen Individuen online interagieren, Informationen erhalten, von anderen beeinflusst werden oder diese beeinflussen.