Science Support Services

The aim of the DSI Science Support Services is to provide support and coordination to DSI members regarding their research related to questions of digitalization and its impact on society and science.

  • Financial support: The DSI supports projects of DSI members with the strategic funds of the DSI. The criteria for receiving funds from the DSI are described in the document “DSI Criteria”.
  • Fellowship Program: The DSI offers a fellowship program in order to support interdisciplinary collaboration at the University of Zurich regarding all questions of the impact of digitalization on society and science. The application criteria are described in the document “DSI-Fellowships-Announcement”.
  • Grant application support: The DSI supports researchers in writing successful grant proposals related to digitalization topics and in managing research projects. The aim is to support approximately two applications for large-scale projects (>1 Mio. CHF) every year. The DSI managing board is able to provide support in terms of helpful tips and insights from previous applications, e.g. Horizon 2020 applications. Furthermore, by scanning upcoming national and international calls, the DSI will draw attention to interesting topics and aims to connect DSI members in order to build powerful consortia.    
  • Ethics management: The DSI managing board provides support regarding ethical questions facing modern research by creating guidelines and evaluation systems that deal with the specific ethical challenges posed by digital research (e.g. data management).
  • Research coordination: The DSI managing board is responsible for managing all processes related to the collaboration of the DSI’s structural elements (research group coordination; DSI fellowships, coordination and support of the challenge areas and community events, organization of internal colloquia such as brown bag lunches, etc.).
  • Event organization: The DSI provides organizational support to DSI researchers in setting up workshops, conferences, and other types of events.
  • Contact point for stakeholders: The DSI managing board serves as a point of contact for journalists, companies, political bodies, and public administration bodies. Bi-monthly lunches with journalists from NZZ and regular meetings with SRF are already in place. The upcoming launch of the DSI Yellow Pages will further facilitate the linking of journalists, politicians and other stakeholders with the UZH researchers represented in the DSI network.
  • Programming, Analytics & Data Science: Support in programming is provided by S3IT. Currently the DSI is in contact with S3IT to also set up Data Analysis/Data Science Clinics providing support in big data management, processing, analytics, and visualization competences.

Information & Application

The DSI managing board regularly sends e-mails to the DSI network members drawing their attention to upcoming calls, opportunities etc. 

Regarding financial support and the DSI fellowships, you are encouraged to refer to the documents mentioned above.

 

For further questions do not hesitate to contact the DSI managing office info@dsi.uzh.ch

Science Support Services

Ziel der DSI Science Support Services ist es, die DSI-Mitglieder bei ihrer Forschung zu Fragen der Digitalisierung und deren Auswirkungen auf Gesellschaft und Wissenschaft zu unterstützen und zu koordinieren.

  • Finanzielle Unterstützung: Die DSI unterstützt Projekte von DSI Mitgliedern mit den strategischen Mitteln der DSI. Die Kriterien für den Erhalt von Fördermitteln der DSI sind im Dokument "DSI-Kriterienkatalog" beschrieben.
  • Fellowship-Programm: Die DSI bietet ein Fellowship Programm an, um die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit an der Universität Zürich zu Fragen der Auswirkungen der Digitalisierung auf Gesellschaft und Wissenschaft zu unterstützen. Die Bewerbungskriterien sind in der Dokumentation "DSI-Fellowships-Ausschreibung" beschrieben.
  • Unterstützung bei der Beantragung von Fördermitteln: Die DSI unterstützt Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler bei der Erstellung erfolgreicher Förderanträge zu Digitalisierungsthemen und bei der Leitung von Forschungsprojekten. Ziel ist es, jährlich etwa zwei Anträge für Grossprojekte (>1 Mio. CHF) zu unterstützen. Die DSI Geschäftsstelle unterstützt mit hilfreichen Tipps und Erkenntnissen aus früheren Anträgen, wie Horizon 2020. Darüber hinaus wird die DSI durch das Scannen kommender nationaler und internationaler Calls auf interessante Themen aufmerksam machen und zielt darauf ab, DSI Mitglieder zu verbinden, um leistungsfähige Konsortien zu bilden.
  • Ethikmanagement: Durch die Schaffung von Richtlinien und Bewertungssystemen, die sich mit den spezifischen ethischen Herausforderungen der digitalen Forschung (z.B. Datenmanagement) auseinandersetzen, unterstützt die Geschäftsstelle der DSI bei ethischen Fragen zur heutigen Forschung.
  • Forschungskoordination: Die Geschäftsstelle der DSI ist verantwortlich für das Management aller Prozesse, die mit der Zusammenarbeit aller Elemente der DSI zusammenhängen (Koordination der Forschungsgruppen, DSI Fellowships, Koordination und Unterstützung der Challenge Areas und Community Events, Organisation interner Kolloquien wie Brown Bag Lunches, etc.).
  • Organisation von Veranstaltungen: Die DSI bietet organisatorische Unterstützung bei der Entwicklung von Workshops, Konferenzen und anderen Veranstaltungen, die von den DSI-Forschern ins Leben gerufen werden.
  • Schnittstelle zu Stakeholdern: Die Geschäftsstelle der DSI fungiert als Schnittstelle zu Journalisten, Unternehmen, Politik und öffentlicher Verwaltung. Zweimonatliche Mittagessen mit Journalisten der NZZ und regelmäßige Treffen mit dem SRF sind bereits geplant. Die baldige Aufschaltung der DSI Yellow Pages wird die Vernetzung von Journalisten, Politikern und anderen Stakeholdern mit den im DSI Netzwerk vertretenen UZH Forschern weiter erleichtern.
  • Programmierung, Analysen & Data Science: Unterstützung bei der Programmierung bietet S3IT. Zurzeit steht die DSI in Kontakt mit S3IT, um auch so genannte Data Analysis/ Data Sci-ence Clinics einzurichten, die Unterstützung in den Bereichen Datenmanagement, -verarbeitung, -analyse und -visualisierung bieten sollen.

Informationen & Anträge

Mailings der DSI Geschäftsstelle weisen regelmäßig auf anstehende Calls, Gelegenheiten etc. für die DSI Netzwerkmitglieder hin. 

Bezüglich der finanziellen Unterstützung von Netzwerk Mitgliedern und der DSI Fellowships verweisen wir auf die oben genannten Dokumente.

 

Für weitere Fragen steht Ihnen die Geschäftsstelle des DSI gerne zur Verfügung info@dsi.uzh.ch