DSI Infrastructure & Lab Call

Introduction

The research program of the «Digitalization Initiative of the Zurich Universities (DIZH)» finances the creation or promotion of infrastructures and labs. The terms «infrastructure» and «lab» are deliberately broadly defined. The focus is on the establishment of jointly usable infrastructures or structural vessels to promote collaborative settings for research that touches upon the idea of digital transformation. The bundling of existing competencies and persons should enable synergies and new forms of cooperation. Examples include regular, purpose-oriented meetings of researchers to jointly develop solutions and the combination of existing infrastructures or the development of new ones that are conducive to interdisciplinary cooperation. However, the call for DSI infrastructures and labs is not aimed solely at supporting individuals or projects.

Applications for DSI infrastructures and labs are evaluated by a commission that includes representatives of all University of Zurich faculties and a representative from the office for Strategic Research Platforms of the University of Zurich. The decision of the commission is final. Further information can be found in the Process section below. Future adjustments to the call procedure are possible.

Applications for DSI infrastructures and labs can be submitted by members of the Digital Society Initiative (DSI) at the University of Zurich (i.e., regular DSI members). Projects with persons from other DIZH institutions (PHZH, ZHAW, ZHdK) are welcome, but this is not a mandatory criterion for an award. Applicants must be able to provide (at least) the same amount of co-financing to match the funds applied for in the application. The financing period for applications with DSI funds is usually 1- 2 years, with the possibility of extension. However, long-term financing of infrastructures and labs with DIZH funds is excluded.

Call

Applicants: Full members of the Digital Society Initiative (DSI) are formally eligible to apply. Full members of the DSI can be all members of the UZH who are actively involved in issues related to the digitalization of society.

Structure of the submission: An application for the creation of a DSI infrastructure or a DSI lab comprises a maximum of 5 pages and must address the following points (Word template (XLSX, 202 KB)for submission):

  • Content: The application should outline the goal and purpose of the proposed infrastructure or lab. Those should be related to the applicants' previous or future research projects and to the roadmap (PDF, 595 KB) of the University of Zurich’s Digital Society Initiative (DSI).
  • Interdisciplinarity: The application should provide a detailed outline of the interdisciplinary character of the proposed DSI infrastructure or lab. The added value for the interdisciplinary and interfaculty cooperation created by the infrastructure or the lab must be explicitly pointed out.
  • Budget and matching funds: DIZH’s share of the financing must be matched by at least an equal share. Applicants must indicate this co-financing according to the budget template. The Commission for DSI infrastructures and labs expects the requested funds to range between CHF 40,000 and 100,000 (without possible prolongation applications), but lower or higher contributions are not excluded. Further information on legitimate use of DIZH funds and eligible matching funds is available in a separate document (DIZH-UZH Matching Funds (PDF, 113 KB)) as well as in the budget template (XLSX, 202 KB).
  • Partners: The application should make clear which partners (researchers or institutions) are responsible for the DSI infrastructure or the DSI lab. The inclusion of partners from DIZH universities is desirable but not mandatory. The person responsible for the application must be a person or institution affiliated with the University of Zurich.
  • Criteria for achieving goals: The application should make clear which criteria are to be used to measure the success of the planned DSI infrastructure or lab.
  • Duration: Applications should explain whether or not a long-term perspective is envisioned for the infrastructure or lab, and if so provide details on how this can be secured. Applications have a maximum duration of 2 years. An extension is possible if the defined objectives are met, but this is also subject to a competitive procedure.

In addition to the application document, applicants must enclose their CV and research output in accordance with the SNSF guidelines. Depending on the application, other documents (e.g. commitments to use certain infrastructures) may also be enclosed.

Process

Submissions for a DSI infrastructure or a DSI lab will be processed in 2021 as follows:

  1. Applications are submitted by Selectus (https://www.apply.dsi.uzh.ch/position/4849664) to the Commission for DSI infrastructure/labs by December 1. These applications will be formally reviewed by the DSI office and, if necessary, the applicants will be contacted.

  2. On February 1, the Commission for DSI infrastructures/labs will award the grants. The Commission will make the final decision on the award. In case of outstanding applications that cannot be financed due to the annual budget, applicants can transfer their application to the next call for proposals and be evaluated again.

  3. Approved projects must begin no later than six months after approval.

A new call for applications will be published each year.

Please contact us for questions: dsi-labs@dsi.uzh.ch

DSI Infrastruktur & Lab Call

Ausgangslage

Das Forschungsprogramm der Digitalisierungsinitiative der Zürcher Hochschulen (DIZH) finanziert die Schaffung oder Förderung von Infrastrukturen und Labs. Die Begriffe «Infrastruktur» und «Lab» werden dabei bewusst breit gefasst. Der Fokus liegt auf der Einrichtung gemeinsam nutzbarer Infrastrukturen oder struktureller Gefässe zur Generierung von kollaborativen Settings für die Forschung, wobei Bezüge zur digitalen Transformation gegeben sein müssen. Aus der Bündelung bestehender Kompetenzen und Personen sollen Synergien und neue Kooperationsformen ermöglicht werden. Beispiele sind regelmässige, zweckorientierte Zusammenkünfte von Forschenden, zur gemeinsamen Erarbeitung von Lösungen oder die Kombination bestehender sowie der Aufbau neuer Infrastrukturen, welche einer interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit förderlich sind. Reine Personen- oder Projektförderungen fallen hingegen nicht in die Zielsetzung des Calls für DSI Infrastrukturen und Labs.

Die Beurteilung von Anträgen für DSI Infrastrukturen und Labs erfolgt durch eine Kommission, in der Vertreter*innen aller UZH-Fakultäten sowie des Prorektorats Forschung, Abteilung strategische Forschungsplattformen Einsitz haben. Der Zusprache-Entscheid der Kommission ist abschliessend. Nähere Informationen hierzu finden sich unter dem Abschnitt Prozess. Künftige Anpassungen am Prozedere der Ausschreibung sind möglich.

Anträge für DSI Infrastrukturen und Labs können von DSI Mitgliedern der Universität Zürich (ordentliche DSI-Mitglieder) gestellt werden. Projekte mit Personen aus anderen DIZH-Institutionen (PHZH, ZHAW, ZHdK) sind erwünscht, dies ist aber kein zwingendes Kriterium für eine Zusprache. Die Antragsteller*innen müssen für die beantragten Mittel eine (mindestens) gleich hohe Mitfinanzierung ausweisen können. Der Finanzierungs-Zeitraum der Anträge beträgt in der Regel 1-2 Jahre, wobei Verlängerungen möglich sind; eine langfristige Finanzierung von Infrastrukturen und Labs durch DIZH-Mittel ist aber ausgeschlossen.

Call

Antragsteller*innen: Formell antragsberechtigt sind ordentliche Mitglieder der Digital Society Initiative. Ordentliche Mitglieder der DSI können alle Angehörigen der UZH werden, die sich aktiv mit Fragen der digitalen Gesellschaft befassen.

Struktur der Eingabe: Ein Antrag zur Schaffung einer DSI-Infrastruktur oder eines DSI-Labs umfasst maximal 5 Seiten und muss auf folgende Punkte eingehen (Word-Template (DOCX, 323 KB)für die Eingabe):

  • Inhaltliche Ausrichtung: Der Antrag soll Ziel und Zweck der DSI-Infrastruktur oder des DSI-Labs aufzeigen. Deren bzw. dessen inhaltliche Ausrichtung soll Bezüge zu den bisherigen bzw. zukünftigen Forschungsprojekten der Antragssteller*innen und zur Roadmap (PDF, 623 KB) der Digital Society Initiative (DSI) der Universität Zürich ausweisen.
  • Interdisziplinarität: Der Antrag soll aufzeigen, worin genau der interdisziplinäre Charakter der DSI-Infrastruktur oder des DSI-Labs besteht. Der Mehrwert für die interdisziplinäre und interfakultäre Zusammenarbeit, der durch die Infrastruktur bzw. das Lab geschaffen wird, muss explizit aufgezeigt werden.
  • Budget und Mitfinanzierung (matching funds): Der von der DIZH beanspruchte Finanzierungsanteil muss durch einen mindestens gleich grossen Anteil mitfinanziert werden. Die Antragsteller*innen weisen diese Mitfinanzierung gemäss Budget-Template aus. Die Kommission für DSI Infrastrukturen und Labs erwartet, dass sich die beantragten Mittel im Spektrum zwischen CHF 40'000 und 100'000 bewegen (ohne allfällige Verlängerungsgesuche), geringere oder höhere Beiträge sind aber nicht ausgeschlossen. Weitere Informationen über legitime Formen des Einsatzes von DIZH-Mitteln sowie anerkannte Formen von Mitfinanzierung finden sich in einem separaten Dokument (DIZH-UZH Matching Funds (PDF, 138 KB)) sowie dem Budget-Template (XLSX, 202 KB).
  • Partner*innen: Der Antrag soll deutlich machen, welche Partner*innen (Forschende oder Institutionen) die DSI-Infrastruktur oder das DSI-Lab tragen. Der Einbezug von Partner*innen aus DIZH-Hochschulen ist erwünscht, wenn dies inhaltlich Sinn macht, aber für eine Zusprache nicht zwingend. Verantwortliche Antragsteller*innen sind UZH-Personen/Institutionen.
  • Zielerreichungs-Kriterien: Der Antrag soll deutlich machen, anhand welcher Kriterien der Erfolg der geplanten DSI-Infrastruktur oder eines DSI-Labs gemessen werden soll.
  • Dauer: Anträge sollen aufzeigen, ob eine langfristige Perspektive für die Infrastruktur bzw. das Lab vorgesehen ist oder nicht und, wie diese gesichert werden kann beziehungsweise warum diese nicht vorgesehen ist. Anträge haben eine maximale Laufzeit von 2 Jahren. Eine Verlängerung bei Erfüllung der festgelegten Ziele ist möglich, erfolgt aber ebenfalls in einem kompetitiven Verfahren.

Nebst dem Antrags-Dokument haben die Antragsteller*innen ihr CV und ihren Forschungsoutput gemäss Vorgaben des SNF beizulegen. Je nach Antrag können auch weitere Begleitdokumente (z.B. Zusagen zur Nutzung bestimmter Infrastrukturen) beigelegt werden.

Prozess

Eingaben für eine DSI-Infrastruktur oder ein DSI-Lab werden in diesem Call wie folgt bearbeitet:

  1. Per 1. Dezember erfolgen Anträge per Selectus zuhanden der Kommission für DSI-Infrastrukturen/Labs. Link: https://www.apply.dsi.uzh.ch/position/4849664. Diese werden durch die DSI-Geschäftsstelle einer formellen Prüfung unterzogen und es erfolgen gegebenenfalls Rückfragen an die Antragsteller*innen.

  2. Per 1. Februar erfolgen die Zusprachen von Seiten der Kommission für DSI-Infrastrukturen/Labs. Die Kommission entscheidet abschliessend über die Zusprache. Im Fall des Vorliegens hervorragender Anträge, die aufgrund des jährlichen Budgets nicht finanzierbar sind, können die Antragsteller*innen Ihren Antrag in die nächste Ausschreibungsrunde transferieren; die Anträge werden dann erneut bewertet.

  3. Bewilligte Projekte müssen spätestens bis sechs Monate nach Bewilligung gestartet worden sein.

Für die folgenden Jahre wird ein neuer Call Text publiziert.

Für Rückfragen kontaktieren Sie uns bitte unter dsi-labs@dsi.uzh.ch