Call for DIZH Bridge Professorships

Introduction

The research program of the "Digitalization Initiative of the Zurich Universities" (DIZH) includes the creation of three bridge professorships between 2021 and 2023. These professorships are interdisciplinary and contribute to connecting the partner universities on a scientific level. The professorships are tasked with bringing together relevant activities from the various partner universities in a particular field and creating synergies between them.

Three bridge professorships are financed directly by the DIZH program at the UZH, although the financing does not correspond to that of a full professorship. The UZH's financial planning for the DIZH provides for a total of CHF 6.2 million for the bridge professorships (i.e. approximately CHF 2 million per professorship), and the creation of these professorships will be staggered over the years 2021 to 2023. The Canton of Zurich expects that the DIZH activities will be additionally financed by the UZH's own funds (and supplemented by the partner universities), which can be used for the further development of the professorships. The financing of the professorships is the universities’ responsibility after the DIZH expires in 2029.

The bridge professorships financed directly by the DIZH are advertised competitively and internationally by each UZH faculty. They are set up according to the usual procedures in cooperation with one of the other partner universities. The bridge professorships are active and visible at both partner universities. The bridge professorships are subject to evaluation in accordance with standard UZH procedures (usually after six years), and successful cooperation between the DIZH universities involved will also be assessed.

The partner universities agree on the areas in which bridge professorships are reasonable and what profile they should have. If possible, a representative from the second university involved in each professorship should be given a seat on the appointment committee. Applications are reviewed and prioritized by the Commission for DIZH Bridge Professorships, which consists of representatives from all UZH faculties and partner universities. The exact procedures for creating the bridge professorships are explained in the Process section below.

The aim is to create one bridge professorship for each cooperation between the three partner universities of the UZH (PHZH, ZHAW, ZHdK); however, the final selection criterion is the quality of the applications. Bridge professorships can also involve more than two universities.

Call

This call is distributed by the UZH faculties and the departments or prorectorates of the DIZH partner institutions. Ideas for DIZH bridge professorships will, if possible, be submitted first as outlines (i.e. "one-pagers") and then as complete submissions to the Commission for DIZH Bridge Professorships according to the scheme below. Further details can be found in the Process section.

Applicant: Formally, the seven faculties of the UZH are entitled to submit applications for DIZH bridge professorships to the Commission. Each application must have the formal support of at least one UZH faculty and one department/prorectorate of a DIZH partner university. The faculties are free to make an internal pre-selection.

Structure of the final submission: A proposal for the creation of a DIZH bridge professorship should be based on the template (DOCX, 327 KB) for DIZH bridge professorships and should comprise approximately 4-5 pages. This submission must explicitly address the following points:

A) Topical orientation: The topical orientation of the DIZH bridge professorship should be related to the roadmap of the Digital Society Initiative (DSI) of the University of Zurich. It may also be related to education or the subject area Art, Culture, and Religion. The field of Art, Culture, and Religion can include, for example, research on the interrelationship between digitalization, art, culture, and religion: on the transformation of the arts, on the self-description of the human being, and on cultural self-understanding on the one hand, and on research on the artistic, religious, and cultural reflection of these changes on the other hand. In addition to Digital Literacy/Skills, the subject area education can also address, for example, teaching and learning in the context of digital transformation or the transformation of educational systems and institutions in a digital society.

B) Interdisciplinarity: The submission should clearly explain the interdisciplinary character of the bridge professorship.

C) Synergies: The submission should clearly outline the synergy of the cooperation between the partner universities in the respective professorship. The added value and challenges of the cooperation must be highlighted.

D) Bridge character: Based on the following three elements, the submission should explicitly indicate how the cooperation (or the "bridge") between the partner institutions will be designed:

  1. Research: Applicants should demonstrate how the research topics and competencies of the participating institutions complement and support each other in the bridge professorship and explain the potential of the collaboration over the long-term.
  2. Teaching: Applicants should clearly explain how the bridge professorship will provide teaching not only at the UZH but also at the partner university (e.g. in joint courses) and the extent to which the teaching provided at the partner university will be credited to the teaching requirement at the UZH.
  3. Financing: Using the template, applicants should show how both the respective UZH faculty and the partner institution(s) will contribute to the co-financing of the bridge professorship and how the professorship will be financed after 2029.

Process

Submissions for a DIZH bridge professorship will be handled according to the following procedure:

  1. If possible, initial outlines of ideas for submissions to the Commission for DIZH Bridge Professorships should be submitted by February 1, 2021. These submissions should not exceed one page and should contain the following information:
  • Outline of the orientation of the bridge professorship; in particular the topic area, interdisciplinary character, and planned synergies.
  • Name and contact details of at least one person from the UZH and at least one person from a DIZH partner institution who will act as the "carriers" of the idea.
  • Provisional support for the idea by the heads of the UZH faculty involved and the department or prorectorate of the respective partner university. The provisional support does not have to include a commitment to formal approval by the respective organization and financial support. This can be provided in the form of a separate e-mail to the Commission, on which all relevant persons should be copied.
  • Please note that the submission of an outline is not a requirement for the submission of a definitive application; it only serves the Commission for planning purposes.
  1. Definitive applications for bridge professorships must be submitted by the UZH faculties by April 1, 2021. Applications should include the formal confirmation (i.e., signature) of both the respective UZH faculty’s dean's office and the department/rectorate of the respective partner university.
  2. Next, the Commission will outline a prioritized list of proposals by May 1, 2021 for the attention of the DSI Steering Committee (consisting of the UZH University Management and the UZH Deans). This committee will make the final decision regarding which bridge professorships are to be awarded.
  3. Professorships are then created according to the specifications of the respective UZH faculties.

Both the submission of draft ideas and the proposals should be sent to dizh-professorships@dsi.uzh.ch

Call für DIZH Brückenprofessuren

Der Call ist geschlossen.

 

Ausgangslage

Das Forschungsprogramm der Digitalisierungsinitiative der Zürcher Hochschulen (DIZH) sieht unter anderem die Schaffung von drei Brückenprofessuren im Zeitraum 2021-2023 vor. Diese sind interdisziplinär ausgerichtet und tragen dazu bei, die Partnerhochschulen auf der fachlichen Ebene miteinander zu verbinden. Sie haben die Aufgabe, in ihrem Arbeitsgebiet relevante Aktivitäten der Partnerhochschulen zusammenzuführen und Synergien herzustellen.

Drei Brückenprofessuren werden direkt durch das DIZH-Programm an der UZH finanziert, wobei die Finanzierung nicht jener eines vollen Lehrstuhls entspricht. Insgesamt sind in der Finanzplanung der UZH zur DIZH 6.2 Millionen CHF für die Brückenprofessuren vorgesehen, wobei diese Planung eine Staffelung der Schaffung dieser Professuren über die Jahre 2021 bis 2023 vorsieht; d.h., es stehen rund 2 Mio. CHF pro Professur zur Verfügung. Der Kanton Zürich erwartet dabei eine zusätzliche Finanzierung der DIZH-Aktivitäten durch Eigenmittel der UZH (und ergänzend durch die Partnerhochschulen), welche für die weitere Ausgestaltung der Professuren verwendet werden kann. Die Finanzierung der Professuren nach Ablauf der DIZH im Jahr 2029 ist Sache der Hochschulen.

Die direkt durch die DIZH finanzierten Brückenprofessuren werden jeweils von einer UZH-Fakultät kompetitiv und international ausgeschrieben, nach den üblichen Verfahren eingerichtet und kooperieren mit einer der anderen Partnerhochschulen. Sie sind an beiden Partnerhochschulen aktiv und sichtbar. Die Brückenprofessuren unterliegen einer Evaluation nach gängigen Verfahren der UZH (i.d.R. nach sechs Jahren), wobei aber zusätzlich die erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit der jeweils involvierten DIZH-Hochschulen beurteilt wird.

Die Partnerhochschulen verständigen sich darüber, in welchen Bereichen Brückenprofessuren sinnvoll sind und welches Profil sie haben sollen. Die jeweils beteiligte zweite Hochschule soll nach Möglichkeit Einsitz in der Berufungskommission erhalten. Die Sichtung und Priorisierung von Anträgen erfolgt durch die Kommission für die DIZH-Brückenprofessuren gebildet aus Vertreter*innen aller UZH-Fakultäten sowie der Partnerhochschulen. Die genauen Abläufe zur Schaffung der Brückenprofessuren sind im Abschnitt Prozess erläutert.

Es wird angestrebt, dass je eine Brückenprofessur in Zusammenarbeit mit je einer der drei Partnerhochschulen der UZH (PHZH, ZHAW, ZHdK) geschaffen wird; finales Auswahlkriterium ist aber die Qualität der Anträge. Brückenprofessuren können auch mehr als zwei Hochschulen umfassen.

Call

Dieser Call wird durch die UZH-Fakultäten sowie die Departemente bzw. Prorektorate der DIZH-Partnerinstitutionen verbreitet. Ideen für DIZH-Brückenprofessuren werden nach Möglichkeit zuerst als Skizzen und danach als vollständige Eingaben gemäss untenstehendem Schema der Kommission für die DIZH-Brückenprofessuren vorgelegt. Weitere Angaben hierzu finden sich im Abschnitt Prozess.

Antragstellerin: Formell sind die sieben Fakultäten der UZH berechtigt, Anträge für DIZH-Brückenprofessuren zuhanden der Kommission einzureichen. Jeder Antrag muss die formelle Unterstützung mindestens einer UZH-Fakultät sowie eines Departements/Prorektorats einer DIZH-Partnerhochschule haben. Die Fakultäten sind frei darin, eine interne Vorauswahl zu treffen.

Struktur der definitiven Eingabe: Ein Vorschlag zur Schaffung einer DIZH-Brückenprofessur sollte sich grundsätzlich am Template (DOCX, 326 KB) für DIZH-Brückenprofessuren orientieren und ungefähr 4-5 Seiten umfassen. Diese Eingabe muss explizit auf folgende Punkte eingehen:

A) Inhaltliche Ausrichtung: Die inhaltliche Ausrichtung der DIZH-Brückenprofessur soll Bezüge zur Roadmap der Digital Society Initiative (DSI) der Universität Zürich aufweisen. Sie kann zudem Bezüge zum Themenfeld «Kunst, Kultur und Religion» oder zur Bildung aufweisen. Im Themenfeld «Kunst, Kultur und Religion» können dies z.B. Forschungen sein über das Wechselverhältnis zwischen Digitalisierung, Kunst, Kultur und Religion: zur Transformation der Künste, zur Selbstbeschreibung des Menschen und zum kulturellen Selbstverständnis einerseits sowie andererseits Untersuchungen zu künstlerischen, religiösen und kulturellen Reflexion dieser Veränderungen. Im Themenfeld Bildung können nebst «Digital Literacy/Skills» auch z.B. Lehren und Lernen im Kontext digitaler Transformation oder der Wandel von Bildungssystemen und -institutionen in einer digital society angesprochen werden.

B) Interdisziplinarität: Die Eingabe soll aufzeigen, worin genau der interdisziplinäre Charakter der Brückenprofessur besteht.

C) Synergien: Die Eingabe soll deutlich machen, worin die Synergie der Zusammenarbeit der Partnerhochschulen in der jeweiligen Professur besteht. Dazu müssen der Mehrwert und die Herausforderungen der Zusammenarbeit aufgezeigt werden.

D) Brückencharakter: Die Eingabe soll anhand der nachfolgenden drei Elemente explizit ausweisen, wie die Zusammenarbeit (bzw. die «Brücke») der involvierten Partner-Institutionen ausgestaltet wird:

  1. Forschung: Es soll gezeigt werden, wie sich Forschungskompetenzen und -themen der beteiligten Institutionen in der Brückenprofessur ergänzen und unterstützen und welche langfristige Perspektive diese Zusammenarbeit hat.
  2. Lehre: Es soll deutlich gemacht werden, in welcher Weise die Brückenprofessur nicht nur an der UZH, sondern auch an der Partnerhochschule Lehre erbringen wird (z.B. in gemeinsamen Lehrveranstaltungen) und inwieweit die an der Partnerhochschule geleistete Lehre an das Lehrdeputat der UZH angerechnet wird.
  3. Finanzierung: Es soll unter Verwendung des Template ausgewiesen werden, wie sowohl die jeweilige UZH-Fakultät also auch die Partnerinstitution(en) zur Mitfinanzierung der Brückenprofessur beitragen werden und welche Finanzierungsplanung nach 2029 besteht.

Prozess

Die Behandlung von Eingaben für eine DIZH-Brückenprofessur folgt folgendem Vorgehen:

  1. Per 1. Februar 2021 sollen, wenn möglich, erste Ideenskizzen für Eingaben zuhanden der Kommission für die DIZH-Brückenprofessuren erfolgen. Diese Eingaben sollen maximal eine Seite umfassen und folgende Informationen enthalten:
  • Inhaltliche Skizze der Brückenprofessur; insbesondere Themenfeld, interdisziplinärer Charakter und geplante Synergie.
  • Name und Kontaktangaben von mindestens je einer Person von der UZH und mindestens einer DIZH-Partnerinstitution, welche als «Trägerin» der Idee figurieren.
  • Eine provisorische Unterstützung der Idee durch Leitungspersonen der jeweils involvierten UZH-Fakultät und des Departements bzw. Prorektorats der jeweiligen Partnerhochschule. Die provisorische Unterstützung muss noch keine Zusage bezüglich formeller Absegnung durch die jeweilige Organisation und finanzieller Unterstützung beinhalten und kann in Form einer separaten E-Mail zuhanden der Kommission erfolgen, in der alle relevanten Personen im cc sind.
  • Die Eingabe einer Ideenskizze ist kein Erfordernis für die Eingabe eines definitiven Antrags; sie dient der Kommission lediglich für Planungszwecke.
  1. Definitive Eingaben für Brückenprofessuren erfolgen per 1. April 2021 von Seiten der UZH-Fakultäten und umfassen die formelle Bestätigung (Unterschrift) sowohl von Seiten des jeweiligen Dekanats als auch des Departements/Prorektorats der jeweiligen Partnerhochschule zuhanden der Kommission für DIZH-Brückenprofessuren.
  2. Die Kommission wird dann per 1. Mai 2021 eine priorisierte Liste der Vorschläge erstellen zuhanden des Lenkungsausschusses der DSI (bestehend aus der UZH-Universitätsleitung und den UZH-Dekan*innen). Dieser entscheidet endgültig darüber, welche Brückenprofessuren gesprochen werden.
  3. Danach erfolgt die Schaffung der Professuren gemäss den Vorgaben der jeweiligen UZH Fakultät.