Dan Olteanu

Dan Olteanu, Prof. Dr.

Phone: +41 44 635 67 26

olteanu@ifi.uzh.ch

Website

Dan Olteanu studied Computer Science at the Politehnica University of Bucharest and received his PhD from Ludwig Maximilian University in 2005. After a two-year stint as postdoctoral assistant at the University of Saarland and visiting scientist at Cornell University, he took the role of university lecturer in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Oxford and fellow of St Cross College. He became full professor at Oxford in 2016. He also held positions as visiting associate professor at the University of California, Berkeley, Turing fellow at Alan Turing Institute in London, and computer scientist at LogicBlox and relational AI start-up software companies. Since May 2020, Dan is a DSI professor and full professor in the Department of Informatics at the University of Zurich, where he heads the Data Systems and Theory group. He remains a visiting professor with the University of Oxford and an emeritus fellow of St Cross College.
 
Dan's research interests revolve around understanding computational challenges on data processing and designing simple and scalable solutions towards these challenges. Over the last two decades, he has published in the areas of database systems, database theory, and AI, contributing to XML query processing, incomplete information and probabilistic databases, factorised databases, in-database machine learning, incremental maintenance for analytics, and the commercial systems LogicBlox and relationalAI. He co-authored the book « Probabilistic Databases » (2011). His most recent work is on efficient algorithms for machine learning over relational data and incremental maintenance of analytical workloads under data updates (https://fdbresearch.github.io/).
 
He served or is serving as associate editor for flagship journals in data management including Very Large Data Bases, ACM Transactions on Database Systems, IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering, and the ACM SIGMOD Record database principles column. He also served in the Programme Committees of over 60 conferences, as Vice-Chair for ACM SIGMOD 2017, and he will serve as Chair for International Conference on Database Theory 2022. 
 
Dan is the recipient of the International Conference on Database Theory 2019 best paper award, ACM SIGMOD 2018 Distinguished PC member award, an ERC Consolidator grant (2016), and an Oxford Outstanding Teaching award (2009). His research has been generously founded, e.g., by industry  (Google, Microsoft Azure, Amazon AWS, Infor, LogicBlox, RelationalAI), UK EPSRC, and European Commission. Four of his recent works on machine learning over relational databases, incremental maintenance, and declarative probabilistic programming have been invited to best-of-conference issues of ACM Transactions on Database Systems.

Dan Olteanu

Dan Olteanu, Prof. Dr.

Tel.: +41 44 635 67 26

olteanu@ifi.uzh.ch

Webseite

Dan Olteanu studierte Informatik an der Universität Politehnica in Bukarest und promovierte 2005 an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität. Nach einer zweijährigen Tätigkeit als Postdoc-Assistent an der Universität des Saarlandes und Gastwissenschaftler an der Cornell University übernahm er die Rolle des Universitätsdozenten in der Abteilung für Informatik an der Universität Oxford und Fellow des St. Cross College. Seit 2016 ist er ordentlicher Professor in Oxford. Außerdem hatte er Positionen als Gastprofessor an der University of California, Berkeley, als Turing Fellow am Alan Turing Institute in London und als Informatiker bei LogicBlox und relationalen KI-Start-up-Softwareunternehmen inne. Seit Mai 2020 ist Dan DSI-Professor und ordentlicher Professor am Departement für Informatik der Universität Zürich, wo er die Gruppe Datensysteme und Theorie leitet. Er ist weiterhin Gastprofessor an der Universität Oxford und emeritierter Fellow des St. Cross College.

Dans Forschungsinteressen drehen sich um das Verständnis der rechnerischen Herausforderungen bei der Datenverarbeitung und um den Entwurf einfacher und skalierbarer Lösungen für diese Herausforderungen. In den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten hat er in den Bereichen Datenbanksysteme, Datenbanktheorie und KI publiziert und Beiträge zur Verarbeitung von XML-Abfragen, zu unvollständigen Informationen und probabilistischen Datenbanken, faktorisierten Datenbanken, In-Database Machine Learning, inkrementeller Wartung für die Analytik sowie zu den kommerziellen Systemen LogicBlox und relationalAI geleistet. Er ist Mitautor des Buches " Probabilistische Datenbanken " (2011). Seine jüngste Arbeit befasst sich mit effizienten Algorithmen für maschinelles Lernen über relationale Daten und inkrementelle Wartung von analytischen Arbeitslasten unter Datenaktualisierungen (https://fdbresearch.github.io/).

Er war bzw. ist als Mitherausgeber für führende Zeitschriften im Bereich Datenmanagement tätig, darunter Very Large Data Bases, ACM Transactions on Database Systems, IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering und die ACM SIGMOD Record database principles column. Er war auch in den Programmausschüssen von über 60 Konferenzen tätig, als stellvertretender Vorsitzender für ACM SIGMOD 2017, und er wird als Vorsitzender für die Internationale Konferenz über Datenbanktheorie 2022 fungieren.

Dan ist Preisträger des Best Paper Award der International Conference on Database Theory 2019, des ACM SIGMOD 2018 Distinguished PC Member Award, eines ERC Consolidator Grant (2016) und eines Oxford Outstanding Teaching Award (2009). Seine Forschung wurde großzügig begründet, z.B. von der Industrie (Google, Microsoft Azure, Amazon AWS, Infor, LogicBlox, RelationalAI), dem britischen EPSRC und der Europäischen Kommission. Vier seiner jüngsten Arbeiten über maschinelles Lernen über relationale Datenbanken, inkrementelle Wartung und deklarative probabilistische Programmierung wurden zu Best-of-Conference-Ausgaben von ACM-Transaktionen auf Datenbanksystemen eingeladen.