Lena Jäger

Lena Jäger, Prof. Dr.

Phone: +41 44 635 71 47

jaeger@cl.uzh.ch

Website

Lena Jäger's research interests lie at the intersection of linguistics, computational cognitive science and machine learning. She investigate cognitive mechanisms that underlie human language processing through different approaches such as experimental psycholinguistics, computational modelling as well as NLP and machine learning methods (e.g. deep learning).

In her current work, she develops of machine learning methods for the analysis of eyetracking data in order to get insights about cognitive processes reflected in an individual's eye movement behavior.

Lena Jäger completed an MA in Chinese Language and Culture (Sinology) at the Universtiy of Freiburg i.Br. and the Tongji-University Shanghai, the Beijing Language and Culture University and the Université Paris 7 Denis-Diderot. Subsequently she completed an MSc in Experimental and Clinical Linguistics at the University of Potsdam where she continued with a PhD in Cognitive Science. In her dissertation, she computationally and experimentally investigated the cognitive mechanisms underlying human language processing from a cross-linguistic perspective. For the experimental work, she completed research stays in Beijing, Dalian and Taipeh.  After her PhD, during which she had also completed a BSc in Computer Science, she first worked as a postdoctoral researcher in the CRC Limits of Variability of Language at the Department of Linguistics and subsequently in the Machine Learning Research Group at the Department of Computer Science, University of Potsdam. In 2020 she was granted a Machine Learning Junior Research Group at the University of Potsdam by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research. In July 2020 she joined the Department of Computational Linguistics at UZH.

Lena Jäger

Lena Jäger, Prof. Dr.

Tel.: +41 44 635 71 47

jaeger@cl.uzh.ch

Webseite

Lena Jägers Forschungsinteressen liegen an der Schnittstelle von Linguistik, Computational Cognitive Science und Machine Learning. Sie untersucht kognitive Mechanismen, die der menschlichen Sprachverarbeitung zugrunde liegen, durch verschiedene Ansätze wie experimentelle Psycholinguistik, computergestützte Modellierung sowie NLP- und Machine-Learning-Methoden (z.B. Deep Learning).

In ihrer aktuellen Arbeit entwickelt sie Methoden des maschinellen Lernens für die Analyse von Eyetracking-Daten, um Erkenntnisse über kognitive Prozesse zu gewinnen, die sich im Augenbewegungsverhalten einer Person widerspiegeln.

Lena Jäger absolvierte einen MA in Chinesischer Sprache und Kultur (Sinologie) an der Universität Freiburg i.Br. und der Tongji-Universität Shanghai, der Beijing Language and Culture University und der Université Paris 7 Denis-Diderot. Anschließend absolvierte sie einen MSc in experimenteller und klinischer Linguistik an der Universität Potsdam, wo sie mit einer Promotion in Kognitionswissenschaften fortfuhr. In ihrer Dissertation untersuchte sie rechnerisch und experimentell die kognitiven Mechanismen, die der menschlichen Sprachverarbeitung zugrunde liegen, aus einer sprachenübergreifenden Perspektive. Für die experimentellen Arbeiten absolvierte sie Forschungsaufenthalte in Peking, Dalian und Taipeh.  Nach ihrer Promotion, während der sie auch einen Bachelor in Informatik absolviert hatte, arbeitete sie zunächst als Postdoc im SFB Grenzen der Variabilität von Sprache am Institut für Linguistik und anschließend in der Forschungsgruppe Maschinelles Lernen am Institut für Informatik der Universität Potsdam. Im Jahr 2020 wurde ihr eine Machine Learning Junior Research Group an der Universität Potsdam vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung bewilligt. Im Juli 2020 wechselte sie an den Lehrstuhl für Computerlinguistik an der UZH.