Karsten Donnay

Karsten Donnay, Prof. Dr.

Phone: +41 44 634 58 57

donnay@ipz.uzh.ch

Website

Karsten Donnay is Assistant Professor of Political Behavior and Digital Media in the Department of Political Science and part of the Digital Society Initiative of the University of Zurich as a DSI-Professor. Before joining the University of Zurich in April 2020, he was Assistant Professor of Computational Social in the Department of Politics and Public Administration at the University of Konstanz, Germany. Karsten Donnay received a PhD in Computational Social Science from ETH Zurich in 2014 and was a postdoctoral researcher at the Graduate Institute Geneva and the University of Maryland.

In his research, Karsten Donnay combines a substantive interest in political science with the development and refinement of quantitative methodologies for social science research. In the past years, the main focus of his research has been on understanding the influence of new digital (online) media for political behavior. This includes research on biased media coverage but also on the role of individuals’ perceptions for how such content ultimately affects behavior.

Karsten Donnay’s main methodological interests are related to leveraging experimental and observational data from digital media. He is also interested in the use of computational (agent-based) modeling approaches to capture systemic complexity and in the analysis of highly-resolved geographical data. Together with colleagues, he has also developed and currently maintains a number of software packages for data analysis and visualization that are available as open source tools to the research community.

Next to his academic work, Karsten Donnay advises international organizations as well as public and private sector stakeholders in the area of digitalization and data science.

Karsten Donnay

Karsten Donnay, Prof. Dr.

Tel.: +41 44 634 58 57

donnay@ipz.uzh.ch

Webseite

Karsten Donnay ist Assistenzprofessor für Political Behavior and Digital Media am Institut für Politikwissenschaften und Teil der Digital Society Initiative als einer der DSI-Professoren. Vor seinem Stellenantritt in Zürich im April 2020, war er Assistenzprofessor für Computational Social Science am Fachbereich Politik- und Verwaltungswissenschaft der Universität Konstanz. Karsten Donnay promovierte 2014 an der ETH Zürich im Bereich Computational Social Science und war Postdoktorand am Graduate Institut Genf und der Universität Maryland.

In seiner Forschung verbindet Karsten Donnay substantielle Forschungsfrage in den Politikwissenschaften mit der Entwicklung von quantitativen Methoden für sozialwissenschaftliche Forschung. In den vergangenen Jahren lag sein Hauptinteresse dabei auf der Erforschung des Einflusses von neuen digitalen (online) Medien auf politisches Verhalten. Dies umfasst vor allem Forschung zu verzerrter Medienberichterstattung aber auch die Rolle von individueller Wahrnehmung dieser Inhalte auf politisches Verhalten.

Karsten Donnays methodologisches Interesse liegt vor allem auf der Verwendung von Experimenten und Beobachtungsdaten im Bereich digitaler Medien. Er interessiert sich weiterhin für die Nutzung computergestützter (agenten-basierter) Modellierung zur Erfassung von systemischer Komplexität sowie die Analyse von hochaufgelösten geographischen Daten. Zusammen mit Kollegen hat er zudem eine Reihe von Softwarepaketen zur Datenanalyse und -visualisierung entwickelt, die der Forschungsgemeinschaft als Open Source Tools zur Verfügung stehen.

Neben seiner akademischen Tätigkeit berät Karsten Donnay internationale Organisationen sowie öffentliche und private Entscheidungsträger im Bereich Digitalisierung und Data Science.