Felix Gille

Felix Gille, Dr.

Address: Rämistrasse 69, 8001 Zürich

felix.gille@dsi.uzh.ch

Website

My research area:

I research in the fields of health policy, governance, and public trust in data use within healthcare systems.

During the next years, I lead the DSI funded research project «Data handling, security and protection: reaching conceptual equivalence for the concept of public trust in national electronic health records in Switzerland and neighbouring countries». Public trust in data handling, security, and protection is fundamental to the success of data driven healthcare system activities, such as the introduction of national electronic health records (EHR). Unfortunately, there exists little conceptual clarity of what public trust in EHRs within respective healthcare systems is. One of the main motivations to care about public trust is that, if there is no public trust in healthcare system actors and their activities, these actors lack public legitimacy to act and the public does not take part in healthcare system activities. Considering national political interests, cross-border healthcare and international health data transfer more broadly, a precise conceptual understanding of public trust is necessary to inform efforts to implement EHRs. The aim of the project is to develop the concept of public trust in EHRs with the same meaning for Switzerland and neighbouring countries. This will inform health governance and health policy making to increase public trust in EHRs and health data use in general. For the project I work with Prof. von Wyl (IfIS/DSI, UZH) and Prof. Thouvenin (Faculty of Law, UZH). The project bridges the disciplines of health system and policy research, digital health, data law and data security.

My academic career:

I studied European Public Health (BSc) at Maastricht University, the Netherlands, and Health Economics, Policy and Management (MMedSc) at the Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden. I wrote my PhD at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK on public trust in healthcare systems. During that time, I worked at the Health Foundation, London, as a policy intern to contribute to a review of GP quality indicators.

Before starting at the Digital Society Initiative, UZH, I worked at the Health Ethics and Policy Lab, ETH Zürich. Previously, I was a research associate at THIS.Institute, University of Cambridge, UK. I am a Fellow of the Swiss School of Public Health and an Associate Editor for Public Health Reviews.

Who am I outside the university:

Outside of my work at DSI, I volunteer for the Open Mind Institute (OMI). The OMI is a non-​profit organisation located in Bern. At the Open Mind Institute, I co-​lead the citizen science project: Meteo Alpen. The two aims of this project are to validate the performance of weather predictions in alpine areas with a low density of weather stations and to assess the usability of citizen measured weather data for weather prediction and climate modelling. I am further involved in work to improve the public and scientists’ understanding of the role of ethics in citizen science.

Felix Gille

Felix Gille, Dr.

Anschrift: Rämistrasse 69, 8001 Zürich

felix.gille@dsi.uzh.ch

Webseite

Mein Forschungsgebiet:

Mein Forschungsfeld ist Gesundheitspolitik, Regierungsführung und Vertrauen der Öffentlichkeit in Datennutzung in Gesundheitssystemen.

In den nächsten Jahren leite ich das vom DSI geförderte Forschungsprojekt "Data handling, security and protection: reaching conceptual equivalence for the concept of public trust in national electronic health records in Switzerland and neighbouring countries". Öffentliches Vertrauen in den Umgang, die Sicherheit und den Schutz von Daten ist grundlegend für den Erfolg datengesteuerter Aktivitäten im Gesundheitswesen, wie z.B. die Einführung nationaler elektronischer Gesundheitsakten (EPA). Leider gibt es wenig konzeptionelle Klarheit darüber, was öffentliches Vertrauen in EPAs innerhalb der jeweiligen Gesundheitssysteme ist. Eine der Hauptmotivationen sich um das öffentliche Vertrauen zu kümmern ist, dass, wenn es kein öffentliches Vertrauen in die Akteure des Gesundheitssystems und ihre Aktivitäten gibt, diesen Akteuren die öffentliche Legitimation zum Handeln fehlt und die Öffentlichkeit nicht an den Aktivitäten des Gesundheitssystems teilnimmt. In Anbetracht nationaler politischer Interessen, der grenzüberschreitenden Gesundheitsversorgung und des internationalen Gesundheitsdatentransfers im weiteren Sinne ist ein präzises konzeptionelles Verständnis von öffentlichem Vertrauen notwendig, um die Bemühungen zur Implementierung von EPAs zu unterstützen. Das Ziel des Projekts ist es, das Konzept des öffentlichen Vertrauens in EPAs mit der gleichen Bedeutung für die Schweiz und ihre Nachbarländer zu entwickeln. Die Forschungsergebnisse werden Gesundheitsverwaltung und Gesundheitspolitik informieren, um das öffentliche Vertrauen in EPAs und die Nutzung von Gesundheitsdaten im Allgemeinen zu erhöhen. Für das Projekt arbeite ich mit Prof. von Wyl (IfIS/DSI, UZH) und Prof. Thouvenin (Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät, UZH) zusammen. Das Projekt überbrückt die Disziplinen Gesundheitssystem- und Policyforschung, digitale Gesundheit, Datenrecht und Datensicherheit.

Mein akademischer Werdegang:

Ich habe European Public Health (BSc) an der Universität Maastricht (Niederlande) und Health Economics, Policy and Management (MMedSc) am Karolinska Institut in Stockholm (Schweden) studiert. An der London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (Großbritannien) habe ich meine Doktorarbeit über öffentliches Vertrauen in Gesundheitssysteme geschrieben. Während dieser Zeit arbeitete ich bei der Health Foundation, London, als Praktikant, um an einer Überprüfung von Qualitätsindikatoren für Hausärzte mitzuwirken.

Bevor ich bei der Digital Society Initiative, UZH, anfing, arbeitet ich am Health Ethics and Policy Lab, ETH Zürich. Ausserdem war ich wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am THIS Institute, University of Cambridge (UK). Ich bin ein Fellow der Swiss School of Public Health und ein Associate Editor für Public Health Reviews.

Wer bin ich ausserhalb der Universität?

Außerhalb meiner Arbeit am DSI bin ich ehrenamtlich für das Open Mind Institute (OMI) tätig. Das OMI ist eine Non-Profit-Organisation mit Sitz in Bern. Am Open Mind Institute leite ich das Citizen Science Projekt: Meteo Alpen. Die beiden Ziele dieses Projekts sind die Validierung der Leistungsfähigkeit von Wettervorhersagen in alpinen Gebieten mit einer geringen Dichte an Wetterstationen und die Bewertung der Verwendbarkeit von Bürgern gemessenen Wetterdaten für Wettervorhersagen und Klimamodellierung. Außerdem arbeite ich mit Kollegen an dem Verständnis der Öffentlichkeit und der Wissenschaftler für die Rolle der Ethik in der Bürgerwissenschaft.