Titus Neupert

Titus Neupert, Prof. Dr. (MNF)

Phone: +41 44 635 4800

neupert@physik.uzh.ch

Website

Director
Digital Society Initiative

Prof. Dr. Titus Neupert

Titus Neupert is one of the four directors of the Digital Society Initiative and Professor of Condensed Matter Theory at the Faculty of Science of the University of Zurich.

Titus Neupert studied physics at the Technical University of Dresden and the University of Zurich. He then completed his PhD at ETH Zurich and the Paul Scherrer Institute before becoming a postdoctoral fellow at the Center for Theoretical Science at Princeton University. In 2016, he was appointed to the University of Zurich and has since built up the research group for condensed matter theory – first as assistant professor and since 2019 as associate professor.

The research focuses on quantum materials with so-called topological properties, which will serve as hardware foundations for the electronics of the future as well as for quantum computers. To this end, Neupert studies exotic semiconductors and magnets as well as new superconducting materials and works closely with experimental researchers. Methodologically, the group relies on both "pen and paper" and extensive numerical simulations. In the latter, machine learning methods are increasingly used. The work is partly funded by an ERC Starting Grant and was recognized with the Klung-Wilhelmy Science Award in 2019.

In addition to his role as Director of the Digital Society Initiative, Titus Neupert is in the advisory board of the Graduate Campus and is also involved in science communication at the University of Zurich.

Titus Neupert

Titus Neupert, Prof. Dr. (MNF)

Tel.: +41 44 635 4800

neupert@physik.uzh.ch

Webseite

Direktor
Digital Society Initiative

Prof. Dr. Titus Neupert

Titus Neupert ist einer der vier Direktoren der Digital Society Initiative und Professor für Theoretische Festkörperphysik an der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Zürich.

Titus Neupert hat Physik an der Technischen Universität Dresden und der Universität Zürich studiert. Danach doktorierte er an der ETH Zürich sowie am Paul Scherrer Institut, bevor er als Postdoctoral Fellow am Center for Theoretical Science der Princeton University tätig war. 2016 wurde er an die Universität Zürich berufen und baute seither die Arbeitsgruppe für theoretische Festkörperphysik auf – zunächst als Assistenzprofessor und seit 2019 als ausserordentlicher Professor.

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen auf Quantenmaterialien mit sogenannten topologischen Eigenschaften, die als Hardware-Grundlagen für die Elektronik der Zukunft sowie für Quantencomputer dienen sollen. Dafür untersucht Neupert sowohl exotische Halbleiter und Magnete als auch neue supraleitende Materialien und arbeitet eng mit experimentellen Forschern zusammen. Methodisch setzt die Arbeitsgruppe sowohl auf “Stift und Papier” als auch auf umfangreiche numerische Simulationen. Bei letzteren kommen zunehmend auch Methoden des maschinellen Lernens zum Einsatz. Die Arbeiten werden zum Teil aus einem ERC Starting Grant finanziert und wurden 2019 mit dem Klung-Wilhelmy Wissenschaftspreis gewürdigt.

Titus Neupert ist neben seiner Tätigkeit als Direktor der Digital Society Initiative unter anderem im Beirat des Graduate Campus tätig. Er engagiert sich zudem für Wissenschaftskommunikation an der Universität Zürich.