fthouvenin

Florent Thouvenin, Prof. Dr. (RWF)

Phone: +41 44 634 59 97

florent.thouvenin@rwi.uzh.ch

Website

Director
Digital Society Initiative

Prof. Dr. Florent Thouvenin

Florent Thouvenin is one of the four directors of the Digital Society Initiative and Associate Professor of Information and Communication Law at the Faculty of Law of the University of Zurich.

Florent Thouvenin studied at the University of Zurich, where he also received his doctorate and habilitation. He was a research assistant at the ETH and the University of Zurich, practiced as a lawyer in a Zurich commercial law firm and was subsequently Senior Research Fellow in a research project at the University of Zurich and Assistant Professor at the University of St. Gallen (HSG).

His research focuses on copyright and the protection of privacy in the Digital Society. His research focuses on the fundamental question of whether and how privacy and its protection through law and technology must be rethought in the information society. Other ongoing research projects deal with automated decisions, exclusive rights to and access to data, and the increasing personalization of advertising, contracts, and prices.

Florent Thouvenin is Director of the Digital Society Initiative and Chairman of the Steering Committee of the Center for Information Technology, Society, and Law (ITSL) and Associate Fellow at the Collegium Helveticum.

fthouvenin

Florent Thouvenin, Prof. Dr. (RWF)

Tel.: +41 44 634 59 97

florent.thouvenin@rwi.uzh.ch

Webseite

Direktor
Digital Society Initiative

Prof. Dr. Florent Thouvenin

Florent Thouvenin ist einer der vier Direktoren der Digital Society Initiative und ausserordentlicher Professor für Informations- und Kommunikationsrecht an der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Zürich.

Florent Thouvenin hat an der Universität Zürich studiert, doktoriert und habilitiert. Er war wissenschaftlicher Assistent an der ETH und an der Universität Zürich, praktizierte als Rechtsanwalt in einer Zürcher Wirtschaftskanzlei und war anschliessend Senior Research Fellow in einem Forschungsprojekt der Universität Zürich sowie Assistenzprofessor an der Universität St. Gallen (HSG).

Der Schwerpunkt seiner Forschung liegt im Urheberrecht und im Schutz der Privatsphäre in der digitalen Gesellschaft. Im Vordergrund steht dabei die fundamentale Frage, ob und gegebenenfalls wie die Privatsphäre und ihr Schutz durch Recht und Technologie in der Informationsgesellschaft neu gedacht werden müssen. Weitere laufende Forschungsprojekte befassen sich mit automatisierten Entscheidungen, mit Ausschliesslichkeitsrechten an und dem Zugang zu Daten und mit der zunehmenden Personalisierung von Werbung, Verträgen und Preisen.

Florent Thouvenin ist neben seiner Tätigkeit als Direktor der Digital Society Initiative unter anderem Vorsitzender des Leitungsausschusses des Center for Information Technology, Society, and Law (ITSL) sowie assoziierter Fellow am Collegium Helveticum.