abernstein

Abraham Bernstein, Prof. Ph.D (WWF)

Phone: +41 44 635 45 79

bernstein@ifi.uzh.ch

Website

Director
Digital Society Initiative

Prof. Abraham Bernstein, Ph.D

Abraham Bernstein is a full professor at the Institute of Computer Science and Managing Director of the Digital Society Initiative at the University of Zurich. He studied computer science at ETH Zurich and received his doctorate at the Sloan School of Management of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). 

From 2000 to 2002 he was Assistant Professor for Information Systems at the Stern School of Business at New York University. Abraham Bernstein is head of the Dynamics and Distributed Information Systems Group at the University of Zurich. From the beginning of 2016 until mid-2018, he was Director of the Institute of Computer Science. 

Abraham Bernstein's research interests include the semantic web, data mining and machine learning, heterogeneous data integration, crowdsourcing and the interplay between social and technical elements of computer science.

Abraham Bernstein is, in addition to his research and teaching activities and his activities as Managing Director of the Digital Society Initiative, also Director of the Citizen Science Center of the UZH and ETH Zurich, President of the Steering Committee of the NRP 77 Digital Transformation of the Swiss National Science Foundation, and member of a number of scientific committees. 

Abraham Bernstein is a well-known expert when it comes to the opportunities and risks of digitalisation. The Swiss journal Bilanz named him Digital Shaper in 2017.

abernstein

Abraham Bernstein, Prof. Dr. (WWF)

Tel.: +41 44 635 45 79

bernstein@ifi.uzh.ch

Webseite

Direktor 
Digital Society Initiative 

Prof. Dr. Abraham Bernstein 

Abraham Bernstein ist ordentlicher Professor am Institut für Informatik und geschäftsführender Direktor der Digital Society Initiative der Universität Zürich. Er studierte an der ETH Zürich Informatik und promovierte an der Sloan School of Management des Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). 

Von 2000 bis 2002 war er als Assistenzprofessor für Informationssysteme an der Stern School of Business der New York University tätig. Abraham Bernstein ist Leiter der Dynamics und Distributed Information Systems Group an der Universität Zürich. Von Anfang 2016bis Mitte 2018 war er Direktor des Instituts für Informatik. 

Abraham Bernsteins Forschungsinteressen umfassen das Semantische Web, Data-Mining sowie maschinelles Lernen, heterogene Datenintegration, Crowdsourcing sowie das Wechselspiel zwischen sozialen und technischen Elementen der Informatik.

Abraham Bernstein ist neben seiner Forschung und Lehre und seiner Tätigkeit als geschäftsführender Direktor der Digital Society Initiative ebenfalls Direktor des Citizen Science Centers der UZH und ETH Zürich, der Präsident des Leitungsausschuss des NFP 77 Digitale Transformation des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds, sowie Mitglied einer Reihe von wissenschaftlichen Gremien. 

Abraham Bernstein ist ein gefragter Experte, wenn es um die Chancen und Risiken der Digitalisierung geht. Die Zeitschrift Bilanz kürte ihn im Jahr 2017 zum Digital Shaper.